Arkansas Geographic Information Systems Board

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission—Hall of Fame Room

Meeting Minutes

May 11, 2011 9:30 a.m.

Board Members Present:

Dr. Beth McMillan
Jon Sweeney
Tracy Moy
Dr. Jack Cothren
Kasey Summerville
Glen Dabney
Judge Clayton Castleman
Claire Bailey by Proxy Herschel Cleveland

Board Members Absent:

Judge Jerry Hunton Bekki White Randy Everett Dr. Robert Kissell John Ed Isbell

AGIO Staff:

Shelby Johnson, Director Maria Owen, GIS Analyst Adrian Clark, GIS Specialist Damian Coleman, GIS Specialist

Call meeting to order

9:35 a.m.: Meeting called to order by Chair Tracy Moy

The Chair called for corrections to the April 20 minutes. There being no corrections, the minutes were approved.

Approval for April 20 meeting minutes

Motion: Judge Clayton Castleman

Second: Glen Dabney

Old business:

The Board reviewed the QC memo and updated parcel mapping guidelines. Shelby noted the changes made to the guidelines on pages 3 and 4. One member suggested including a statement in the QC memo that says counties and contractors know that the data would be seen by another county. There was some discussion over the QC process. It was mentioned that one thing that could not be checked was content and completeness. It was also discussed how counties who did not have working GIS knowledge could use the data for maintenance.

Some additional changes were made to the guidelines. A board member suggested the QC option be left open to the counties so they can do it themselves, work with the AGIO or accept the AGIO's result. It was also suggested that a statement be included indicating the AGIO would train personnel for maintenance, possibly through a workshop. Another member suggested a 30-day time limit for auto approval could be implemented. The guidelines were adjusted per the recommendation of the Board.

Jack Cothren motioned to approve all changes made to the Parcel Mapping Guidelines on April 13th and 20th, and May 11th. Jon Sweeney seconded the motion to approve.

There being no further lines of business or discussion, the Chair called for a motion to adjourn.

Motion: Beth McMillan

Motion seconded by: Kasey Summerville

The meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

The next meeting is June 1, at the Jonesboro Fire Station # 3, 2212 Brazos St., Jonesboro, AR 72401.

Minutes prepared by AGIO staff.